The Team

Commissioners (4- year term)

Don Dilts, Chair – Hazel Dell Twp

David Dittmer – Minden Twp

Russ Goeser – Boomer Twp

Dolores Bristol – Lake Twp

Gary Larson– Hazel Dell Twp


Assistant Commissioners (1-year term)

Mary Nixon               John Hurd

Linda Durick            


How Conservation Districts Work

West Pottawattamie Field Office Staff

       Brooke Bauer- Conservation Assistant

       Tom Bottoms- NRCS Federal Technician

       Brett Bengard- State Technician

       Jason Andersen- Farm Bill Wildlife Biologist

       Paige Volkens- Education Coordinator

       Kelsi Solheim- Farm Bill Specialist

       Brad Richardson- Soil Conservationist

Conservation districts in Iowa are managed by five commissioners elected on the general ballot in each county.  Each of the five commissioners serve four-year terms and only two commissioner may reside in any single township.  With assistance from the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and Iowa Department of Agriculture and Stewardship-Division of Soil Conservation and Water Quality, commissioners address the natural resource issues that are most critical in their districts.

Soil and Water Conservation Districts are legal subdivisions of the state government.  Commissioners are responsible for carrying our state laws and programs within district boundaries.  These include:

*Sediment control law          *Conservation cost sharing           *Conservation revolving loan funds

*Water quality protection projects          *Resource enhancement and protection 


Districts also play a key role in carrying out federal programs including, but not limited to:

*Conservation Reserve Program (CRP)           *Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP)

*Conservation Compliance          *Wetlands Reserve Program (WRP)          * Conservation Planning       

Conservation Districts Role


"Hello!  I am from Treynor, Iowa.  In 2017, I graduated from Northwest Missouri State University with a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture Science and an Agricultural Communications minor.  During college, I interned as a crop scout in Treynor and Henderson.  Following college graduation, I worked at BigIron Auctions as a Listings Representative.

I was blessed to have the opportunity to grow up on a century farm in Southwest Iowa.  I truly believe my small town, farming roots ignited the flame behind my passion for agricultural communications.  I love connecting with new people and I enjoy sharing agriculture's story with those who may be a few generations removed from the farm.

I am very involved in my church as a Sunday School Teacher and a Worship Team Leader.  My hobbies include spending quality time with my friends and family; I especially love the time spent with my nieces and nephews.   

I look forward to working with both East and West Pottawattamie Soil & Water Conservation Districts and I hope to make a difference in agricultural education in my county and local communities."

~Paige Volkens; Education Coordinator

East & West Pottawattamie SWCDs

Paige Volkens

Education Coordinator

West Pottawattamie County Townships


Hours: 8am-4:30pm M-F

Address: 305 McKenzie Ave

                 Council Bluffs, IA 51503


Phone:  712-328-2489  


Fax:      855-233-1297