Commissioners are local citizens interested in conserving our natural resources without pay. They set policy and direction for local conservation programs and influence state and national conservation programs. 

SWCD Commissioners work together with field office staff employed by various conservation agencies such as the NRCS and IDALS. 

Their main objectives are to conduct surveys, investigations, demonstrations, and help to determine research needs relating to soil and water problems; to cooperate with owners and occupiers of the land; to promote the development of comprehensive programs of planning, application, and maintenance of necessary erosion control and conservation measures; to enter into agreements with individuals, landowners, operators; to promote and establish sound soil and water conservation practices. 


These activities are intended to benefit the people of the district, and also the public in general.  We are primarily responsible for conducting affairs of the East Pottawattamie SWCD.


Kami Willett, Chair– Pleasant Twp

Bob Zimmerman– Lincoln Twp

Pete Hobson – Valley Twp

Bernie Bolton – Belknap Twp

Keith Hotze – Macedonia Twp


Assistant Commissioners

Russ Brandes              Steve Pierce

John Thomas              Norma Bolton

           Chris Perdue



Terry Gleaves, District Conservationist

Becky Lockwood, Conservation Assistant

Jessica Luke, State Technician

Laurel Sellers- Wetland Specialist

Laura LeCuyer, Soil Conservationist

Mike Skiles- CET

Connor Geib, Federal Technician

Earniece D. Young, Resource Team Leader

Jason Andersen, Farm Bill Wildlife Biologist

Dan Case, Environmental Specialist 

All staff of the East Pottawattamie SWCD field office work together to carry out the Districts mission "to conserve Iowa's natural resources through leadership, education, technical and financial assistance."


The field office staff work hand-in-hand providing technical assistance for both state and federal programs. You can read more about programs that are offered below. 

East Pottawattamie Soil and Water Conservation District

Physical: 321 Oakland Avenue

Mailing: 16 Main Street Oakland, IA 51560

Phone: 712-482-6406

Fax: 855-233-1297